You are here

New chair for State's Environment Watchdog


Former Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) senior executive Rayne de Gruchy AM PSM has been appointed Chair of the NSW Environment Protection Authority (EPA).

Environment Minister Matt Kean said Ms de Gruchy is a highly experienced regulator and will play a key role in ensuring that the EPA is a world-class regulator that holds dodgy individuals and organisations to account.

“Now more than ever it is important that we have a tough, independent environmental cop on the beat – ensuring our environment and communities are protected from potentially harmful and hazardous activities,” Mr Kean said.

“The people of NSW expect our environment to be protected, so our children and their children can enjoy our natural environmental assets for generations to come.

“Rayne has come from the ACCC where she led the charge protecting consumers and fearlessly prosecuting people that broke the law – I expect her to take the same approach as Chair of the EPA.”

Newly appointed Chair Rayne de Gruchy said she was excited to be taking on the role.

“I’m looking forward to contributing to the important work of the EPA and working with businesses, government and the community to reduce pollution and waste, protect human health, and prevent degradation of the spectacular natural environment in NSW,” Ms de Gruchy said.

Mr Kean thanked acting Chair Carolyn Walsh for her leadership and guidance over the past 14 months.

“Carolyn has been steadfast in her commitment to drive improved environmental outcomes and hold rogue operators to account, and I thank her for her exceptional stewardship and support of the EPA team throughout the challenges of the summer bushfires and COVID-19 pandemic,” he said. 

Rayne de Gruchy will commence in the role of Chair on Monday, 28 September 2020.