You are here

Solar for Low Income Households Expanded

Solar for Low Income Households Expanded

Applications are open for the NSW Government’s expanded Solar for Low Income Households program, which now includes an additional 12 Greater Sydney local government areas.

Treasurer and Minister for Energy and Environment Matt Kean said the $50 million program expansion will help more eligible homeowners install free solar systems on their roofs.

“The NSW Government is committed to reducing the cost of living, with eligible households set to save up to $600 a year off their electricity bills by installing free 3 kilowatt rooftop solar systems,” Mr Kean said.

“The upfront cost of installing a rooftop solar system can be prohibitive for many low income households, so we’ve set up this great offer so homeowners can unlock the savings offered by solar.

Households can now apply for the offer in the LGAs of Bayside, Blacktown, Burwood, Campbelltown, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, Fairfield, Georges River, Liverpool, Parramatta, Strathfield and Penrith.

To be eligible for the Solar for Low Income Households program, homeowners must also:

  • Hold a valid Pensioner Concession Card or Department of Veterans’ Affairs Gold Card and currently receive the Low Income Household Rebate;
  • Agree not to receive the Low Income Household Rebate for 10 years;
  • Own your own house and;
  • Not have a solar system already.

“The impacts of COVID-19 mean it is even more important to support low income households, with the offer to be extended across other parts of NSW over the next 12 months,” Mr Kean said.

The offer is already running successfully in five NSW regions: North Coast, Central Coast, Sydney-South, Illawarra-Shoalhaven and South Coast. Eligible homeowners in these regions are still encouraged to apply.

For more information go to